Subsection 3.-Nova Scotia

The Government of Nova Scotia consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1867) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 106; since that date the position has been held by Maj.-Gen. the Hon. E. C. Plow, commissioned to office Sept. 1, 1958, followed by the Hon. H. P. MacKeen, commissioned to office Mar. 1, 1963.

The Legislature has 46 members elected for a maximum term of five years. The Legislature elected May 30, 1967 is the 49th in Nova Scotia's history and the 26th since Confederation. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 107; the present Premier assumed office in 1956.

The Premier of the province receives a salary of \$12,000 per annum and each Cabinet Minister a salary of \$10,000 per annum and \$800 per annum as expenses of representation. Each member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$4,000 and an allowance of \$2,000 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties. The Leader of the Opposition receives an allowance of \$7,200 and an \$800 representation allowance in addition to his sessional indemnity.

19.—Legislatures of Nova Scotia, 1945-67, as at June 30, 1967

Norg.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 76; for 1924-33 in the 1938 edition, p. 111; and for 1933-44 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 83.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Oct. 23, 1945 June 9, 1949 May 26, 1953 Oct. 30, 1956 Oct. 30, 1960 Oct. 8, 1963 May 30, 1967	20th	4 4 3 3 3 3 5 1	Mar. 14, 1946 Mar. 21, 1950 Feb. 24, 1954 Feb. 27, 1957 Feb. 8, 1961 Feb. 6, 1964	Apr. 27, 1949 Apr. 14, 1953 Sept. 20, 1956 Apr. 26, 1960 Aug. 29, 1963 Apr. 20, 1967

¹Not yet in session by June 30, 1967.

20.—Seventeenth Ministry of Nova Scotia, as at June 30, 1967 (Party standing at latest General Election, May 30, 1967; 40 Progressive Conservative and 6 Liberal.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and Minister of Education Minister of Finance and Economics and	Hon. R. L. Stanfield ¹	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956
Chairman of the Nova Scotia Power Commission	Hon. G. I. Smith	Nov. 20, 1956	May 2, 1962 Nov. 20, 1956
Health	HON. R. A. DONAHOE	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956
Minister of Public Works and Minister of Highways	Hon. S. T. Pyke	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956 May 2, 1962
of Fisheries	Hon, E. D. Haliburton	Nov. 20, 1956	July 27, 1959 July 6, 1964
Minister of Labour	Hon. T. J. McKeough	July 6, 1964	Dec. 21, 1966
Minister of Trade and Industry	Hon. W. S. Kennedy Jones	Apr. 21, 1960	July 6, 1964 May 2, 1962
Minister without Portfolio	Hon. G. A. Burridge	Oct. 13, 1960	Oct. 13, 1960
Minister of Mines and Minister in Charge of the Liquor Control Act	Hon. D. M. Smith	Oct. 13, 1960	Dec. 12, 1961 Oct. 13, 1960
Minister without Portfolio	Hon. D. R. MacLeod Hon. J. M. Harding. Hon. D. C. MacNeil.	July 6, 1964 July 6, 1964 Dec. 21, 1966	July 6, 1964 July 6, 1964 Dec. 21, 1966
Minister of Agriculture and Marketing and Minister under the Water Act Provincial Secretary and Minister in Charge	Hon. I. W. Akerley	July 6, 1964	July 6, 1964
of Civil Defence	Hon. G. J. Doucet	July 6, 1964	July 6, 1964

¹ Mr. Stanfield resigned on Sept. 13, 1967 after being chosen as leader of the National Progressive Conservative Party; Hon. G. I. Smith succeeded him as Premier of Nova Scotia.